To Think or Not to Think

Why is it so hard to find a good job I like? I have looked at almost every job website and still none of them suits me. I am very specific in what I really want to make a decent living. I love the arts; anything creative that works my brain and body. But all those require a degree or experience. I don’t have much experience or formal study in anything like that. To a degree (no pun intended), many positions say preferred but not required for education, a degree or to know specific programs and I find it difficult to explain I can do so much more in that position. Maybe it’s because I am afraid, I will disappoint them if and when someone hires me, I won’t do the job correctly. But if it’s something I like to do, I will try harder to do my best in it. I may not be perfect, but I know I can do whatever I set my mind to especially if it’s something that I am very passionate about. I am proficient in writing and expressing written ideas despite the fact that I didn’t get straight A’s in high school and community college English classes. Looking back, I was barely a B average student. Yet, I still think that writing has been the only one I enjoyed in school.

In contrast, I excel in many other things I don’t want to deal with anymore. I am pretty good with customer service but hate dealing with irate customers. When I was in fast food, I dealt with mostly nice customers but when someone gets mad, I hate having to deal with confrontation. It makes me scared to be in that situation. Even when I am the customer and something is wrong with my order, I don’t go up to the worker and yell at them or make a big deal about it. That’s not me. So, I feel customer service is not my best suit because I get frustrated in resolving confrontations.

I am also pretty good at being a cashier. I can count pretty good. When I was in fast food, I started as a cashier. Then, I went to a car dealership to work as a receptionist but ended up being both that and a cashier. Next, I went back to fast food and had the opportunity to become a shift leader, something I really wanted when I was a cashier back when I started. But in my experience, it was way too much responsibility and sometimes it made me mad. All of these positions meant I had to provide direct customer service again. I may have a lot of experience in these positions but I’m tired. I’m tired of pleasing people up front. I know it may be petty to some but I enjoy working on my own. I know I may not have co-workers that don’t feel that way but I know those who have the same interests like me would feel the same way.

I know what you’re thinking. Do something about it. I am. People tell me to go back to school. Even if I did, I don’t have the time, energy and means to go back to school. Yet, right now, I am telling you in an article that I am actually enjoy writing about this. It makes me feel better. I feel better now despite many things have been coming my way. Stress has hit me financially, physically and emotionally. I don’t want to divulge my personal life, but I want to find something that not only matches my personality but also works with my schedule. Despite the fact that I like flexibility and freedom to work anytime I want, I would like to have structure in work. In my mind, I find the best way to do it is by doing what I do best and that’s all about being creative.

This is why I am finally airing my grievances. Every day, I hope to find that job that will suits my personality and ambition. I know it’s not realistic to believe that a job will ever be perfect and I know I will make mistakes. I know that along the way I will face circumstances that will make me reconsider this path I took but how will I learn if I don’t face it now?

If I could tell the old Joselynn what to do, I would say start early in what you want to do. Start making goals and if you rely on that, everything else will eventually come to you. I tend to be impatient but I know in due time, everything will be here. I just have to face some hurdles along the way to reaching my goal.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment